Craigieburn teachers and staff are among more than 400 Victorians being recognised for their commitment and dedication to public education, at a ceremony for Department of Education and Training employees who have reached 40, 45, 50 and 55 years of service in 2019.

Minister for Education James Merlino congratulated teachers, principals, and school administrative and department staff at the Department’s Recognition of Service ceremony at the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne.

Among those staff being recognised are Evan Hughes from Willmott Park Primary School and Christine Stonehouse from Craigieburn South Primary School.

The total 408 recipients have devoted more than 17,000 years combines to teaching. During this time, they’ve led progress in education and helped young people to thrive through learning, and by creating opportunities.

The Andrews Labor Government is building the Education State where every student can access a great local school and get a great education. Building a world class education system with exceptional teachers, principals, education support staff and departmental staff.

The Labor Government is investing $30.9 million in our teachers over the next five years professional development, learning and other initiatives, to ensure that teachers are supported to have great careers in the Education State.

A full list of recipients is available here:

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education James Merlino

“Everyone remembers an inspiring teacher, educator or principal who inspired passions or offered support to reach their full potential.”

“These award recipients have dedicated their careers to public education, helping thousands of students and multiple generations of Victorians, over many decades.”

Quotes attributable to Member for Yuroke Ros Spence

“I wish to congratulate and thank both Evan and Christine on behalf of the many young people whose lives have been touched by their years of hard work in schools in our region.”