Newbury Primary School officially opens

Minister for Education James Merlino and Member for Yuroke Ros Spence today joined the principals of Victoria’s 10 new schools to officially open Newbury Primary School.

The Craigieburn school will be headed up by principal Michelle Bromfield, who has more than 17 years of teaching experience. It will initially have 297 students with the capacity to accommodate 475 in total.

Newbury Primary was designed in partnership with local educational leaders and the community. It features several modern environmental initiatives including high efficiency hydronic heating and extensive insulation.

The school has high quality sporting facilities, a video production lab, student kitchen, arts, STEM and digital technologies facilities as well as an adventure playground and outdoor camping learning area.

Other new schools to open in 2017 are: Harvest Home Primary School, Mernda Park Primary School, Mernda Central P-12 College, Tulliallan Primary School, Wilandra Rise Primary School, Barton Primary School, John Henry Primary School, Featherbrook P-9 College and Morwell Central Primary School.
The new schools will be located within Melbourne’s growth areas of Mernda, Point Cook, Cranbourne North, Cranbourne West, Clyde North and Epping North, as well as in Pakenham and Morwell.

The Labor Government has delivered unprecedented investment to build and upgrade schools across Victoria to meet surging enrolments as an extra 90,000 students enter the school system over the next five years.

There are now 42 new schools in the construction pipeline – including the 10 brand new government schools opening in 2017 – and more than 1,000 school upgrade projects under way across the state thanks to a $1.8 billion investment in infrastructure