Yuroke schools encouraged to enter sustainability awards

Member for Yuroke Ros Spence is encouraging local schools to enter the 2017 ResourceSmart Schools Awards.

Run by Sustainability Victoria, the ResourceSmart Schools Awards recognise the great sustainability work being done by Victorian schools.

Local schools participating in the ResourceSmart initiative include Willmott Park Primary School, Our Lady’s School, Newbury Primary School, Aitken College, Hume Anglican Grammar, and Roxburgh Rise Primary School.

Last year, Aitken College teacher Ben Lawless was a finalist for the Teacher of the Year award.

Schools are contributing to the long-term fight against climate change, contributing to energy and waste reduction by undertaking activities that will make them and local communities better.

There are 16 award categories. Each is designed to recognise a specific sustainable actions.

The categories for 2017 are:

  • Biodiversity
  • Energy
  • Waste
  • Water
  • Community Leadership
  • Teacher of the Year
  • Student Action Team of the Year.

Two new categories include Leadership School of the Year and School of the Decade to celebrate the awards’ tenth anniversary. The ResourceSmart Schools Awards will be announced in October.

The awards are part of ResourceSmart Schools, an award-winning Victorian Government program that assists schools to embed sustainability in everything they do by minimising waste, saving energy and water, promoting biodiversity and taking action on climate change.

Read more about last year’s finalists and winners and find out how to enter at www.sustainability.vic.gov.au/schoolsawards.