Adjournment: Craigieburn Station Parking

Ros SPENCE (Yuroke) (19:03:22) — (14 656) My adjournment matter is for the Minister for Public Transport, and the action I seek is for the minister to provide an update to me on further opportunities to deliver even more parking options for Craigieburn commuters. The Andrews Labor government is already delivering 869 additional car parking spaces at Craigieburn station. To date 85 extra spaces have been completed, another 39 spaces are currently under construction and funding to build a massive new car park with 745 spaces was included in the recent 2018–19 Victorian budget. These spaces are greatly appreciated by the community, and I appreciate the efforts being made to find additional sites. I thank the minister for her support, and I look forward to sharing her response with the Yuroke community.


I thank the Member for Yuroke for her question.

The Andrews Labor Government understands the needs of residents in Melbourne’s rapidly growing north and the consequential demand for station parking. Since coming to office, the Government has expanded the number of spaces available for public transport users at Craigieburn railway station from 270 to 393 and has committed to two further expansions of this car park which will add at least 785 spaces.  When these are completed, Craigieburn station will have one of the largest railway station car parks in Melbourne.

We will continue to monitor the needs of Craigieburn commuters and will bring forward further public transport services and car parking as demand requires and as opportunity and budget considerations permit.

Hon Jacinta Allan MP                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Member for Bendigo East                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Minister for Public Transport