Members Statement: Australian of the Year Awards

Ms SPENCE (Yuroke—Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Minister for Community Sport, Minister for Youth) (13:54): Today I rise to congratulate the Victorian nominees for the 2022 Victoria Australian of the Year Awards, particularly those I have come across as Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Minister for Community Sport and Minister for Youth.

I begin with the Victoria Australian of the Year, the inspirational Dylan Alcott, recognised for his remarkable sporting success and eliminating barriers for people with a disability. Nominee Kim O’Reilly highlights the role sport can play in preventing violence against women. While Kim’s insights have helped inform recent Victorian government initiatives in community sport settings, her campaign for a national approach is a call to action for the community sports sector. Nominee Nyadol Nyuon is a powerful human rights advocate, tackling racism and empowering migrants, refugees, asylum seekers and women.

Congratulations to Victoria’s Young Australian of the Year, Ahmed Hassan, who reflects on his personal experiences to support multicultural young people and who has done terrific work through Youth Activating Youth; and to nominees Victorian Youth Congress member Keeden Graham, for his dedication to supporting young Aboriginal Victorians; and Alex Dekker and Libby Fisher, who are also highly deserving nominees. Finally, the Victoria Local Hero nominee is Jaswinder Singh, for his work with Sikh Volunteers Australia for providing food and support to those in need. Congratulations to you all again on your well-deserved recognition. You are all outstanding assets of our state, and we are all incredibly proud of your contributions.